Saturday, September 21, 2013

Almafi Coast in Full

Thursday Night:
7 PM -We pack up and head out for the bus that was waiting for us at the train station, which is about a 7 min or so walk from our apartment. Myself, Diana (my room mate,) Kristina and Aubrey (my suite mates) begin the adventure to the Almafi Coast. We meet up with the trip leaders who work for Bus2Alps, the program we booked the trip through. We get some teal wristbands to represent our accommodations for the weekend. Me, Diana and Kristina booked a place called Hostel Seven. We get on the bus after a little bit and are given the rundown. 3ish hours into the bus ride we will stop for food etc then continue until we get to the destination. The bus ride is around 7 hours or so.

Friday:
We get in around 3 AM. They want us up at 6:30 AM. Needless to say we were not very enthused with this news but we were able to get a couple hours of sleep before waking up for breakfast. The hostel is set up so we have huge rooms of around 10 to 12 people per room. Then the floor has a shared bathroom, one for women and one for men. I basically felt like I was back at camp or in a dorm again. Waiting in line for the sink or the toilet.. ANYWAY.

So we leave for the island of Capri. We get on a ferry style boat with tons of seating in the cabin and above the boat. We take the cabin. This ride had to be one of the bumpiest ferry rides I have ever experienced in my life. Picture Port Jeff ferry but a tiny bit smaller catching air on the water... Yeah, it was not good, we had tons of people getting sick and everything.

We finally make it to the island of Capri. My suite mate Kristina had to stay off the tour boat of Capri because she was still feeling very bad. (she doesn't do well with boats or buses..)  So me, my room mate and my other gal friends take the boat tour of Capri which was just amazing. We didn't get to see Blue Gratto because the tide was way too high and choppy. There was little of the cave that was actually visible. Twas a bummer  but not the end of the world.

We get off the boat and walk a lot of stairs to mid-mountain. We hang out, look around, snap a few photos and are bussed up to the next part of the mountain (Ana Capri). Here we were able to eat lunch, buy some souvenirs and go on the famous single chairlift ride to the tippy top of the mountain which had some of the most beautiful views I have ever seen in my entire life. We were basically in the sky. We couldn't tell where the sea ended and the sky began. Just incredible.


When we were finished in Ana Capri we had to walk alllllll the way back down the entire mountain basically. Here is a picture of the mountain we walked down. Yeah good times. It was all stairs too so our legs were noodles by the time we finished. 

So, after a long day at Capri, we finally made it back down to the ferry ride to get back to our hostel. That was also a better ride, not as choppy. Going on as little sleep as I was, I passed out to the back and forth motion of the boat and awoke as passengers were getting off about 40 min later. 

That night we went to an Italian restaurant for dinner, where they had all of the bus2alps kids go, so it was a little hectic. It was pretty good. I got pasta with broccoli and sausage. Then we followed directions on a map that we were given to another place called the Beer Garden. It was okay. Not my scene. People were drinking and dancing and what not. But I was having trouble staying awake because of what little sleep I was going on. So me and my suite mate Kristina left early to go back to the hostel. Mind you we had to find our way back with the crappy map that they gave us. It was about a 20/30 min walk... Yeah. nuff said. 

Saturday:
We woke up and took the bus to Positano, which by the way, was a gorgeous ride! The scenery was amazing! We were up really high on a windy road and had multiple insanely beautiful views along the way. 

We had to get dropped off a lot higher up because of the complicated roads and non-vehicle friendly places so we walked all the way down to the beach in Positano where we hung out for a bit. Me, Kristina and one of my friends named Angel Rose signed up for the earliest cliff jumping time. Unfortunately, I do not have any photos to prove it because no one I knew was on the boat to take a picture of the 3 of us. :( But maybe if I do it again, I will have someone ready with a camera haha. Anyway, that was amazing and scary at the same time, truly awesome. Then we kinda just took the rest of the day as a beach day. We went swimming, hung out, got lunch and bought some souvenirs. I got some delicious nutella and kinder chocolate gelato on the way out. ;) 

That night they had a buffet style thing going on at the hostel for 10 euro, unlimited food. The food was alright, some stuff better than others, but there were french fries which made us all very happy indeed. After that, we were literally zombies, all extremely tired, so we all just hung out and talked in another group of girls' room that was quite nice. 

Sunday: 
We took a bus to Pompei where we got a guided tour of the ruins. It was a bit long but it was kind of interesting to learn about what had been there. As some of you may know, I am not big on history. haha. Our tour guide was really funny and exciting so he kinda kept my attention through the whole thing for the most part. Then after we went to get some awesome pizza and I bought 2 necklaces from a woman vending on the street. She said I look Italiana and I told her my recently gained knowledge of where my grandparents were from in Italy and she gave me a huge discount! That's how I roll. 

Sorry this took so long! I am going to try to update this more often so I don't feel so lazy to write everything out! Ciao! 


No comments:

Post a Comment