I flew in Thursday night, travel went smoothly, thankfully. That first night I was introduced the ways of all who live in Dubrovnik: stairs.. lots and lots of stairs. It was pretty exhausting. There has to be at least 100 just to get to Caitlin's apartment alone! Crazy!
But anyway, I woke up on Friday to the beauty that is Dubrovnik. The view from Caitlin's apartment was GORGEOUS. I couldn't believe I was actually there.
This first picture is Dubrovnik's "Old Town"
wrecked swimming pools:

this is the amphitheater:
You can see more pictures on my facebook page, I will be loading more on soon!
As I forgot to mention, when we were walking, trying to find our way there, I said hi to a feline friend and then a bunch just started following me. I kinda became a cat whisperer after that hahaha. (they were kind of everywhere.)
We then went to this super awesome place for lunch that Caitlin and her friends love. It was a sandwich place that serves insanely big sammies! I got a chicken with lettuce, mayo and onion, I think? It was delicious!
Then Friday afternoon, I walked the walls of Old Town which was really cool. I got to see every part of the town and all the little houses. It was pretty cute. I also got a taste of the reason why Croatia as a country isn't doing so hot- they're not very hospitable.. They show their emotions upfront and don't care to be polite really. The ticket woman was a bitch to me so that wasn't cool. But that was the only part of my trip that could have been better haha.
That night I went out with Caitlin and her friends to a place called Sky Bar where we hung out a bit. Had my first "Sex on the Beach," which I split with Caitlin, (it apparently wasn't a very good drink, I didn't particularly enjoy it myself. She said it was the bartender...) But all her friends were there and we were pretty much the only ones and we were trying to figure out why that was.. But 2 of her friends were extremely hammered when we got there at 11 and they were just hilarious. I enjoyed their company so much. One of them called me "big eyes." I love the things that people are comfortable enough to say when they're intoxicated.. Anyway we were hangin out there for a while then people wanted pizza and it was really cold that night so me and Caitlin went back after that because it was somewhere between 12 and 1 and we were pretty much sober.
The next day we hung around then went to the beach later which was really nice. The water was a bit too cold for me to go in but Caitlin didn't have a problem with it haha. I just sat out and enjoyed the lovely rays of sun. Then that night I got to witness not only a water polo game (a first,) but a Croatian water polo game (also a first). It was pretty cool and the team that we were rooting for dominated by like 8 points or something with a score of like 10 to 2. Then that night me and Caitlin went back and hung out with some people and finished watching 16 Candles together.
Sunday I was able to do some souvenir shopping.. Got myself a cool Dubrovnik mug (on sale for 3 euro- what a bargain!) I also got myself some lavender face lotion. And I also did some christmas shopping.. shh ;) Then we had lunch, had myself some awesome chicken nuggets and fries from a local joint then we just waited for the bus to pick me up!
Overall it was a great trip and I am so happy that I got to see Caitlin :) I have missed her a lot, as well as my other GDD friends. It was cool also because I realized that we have a lot more in common than just our name ;) We got to do some deep talks and that was really refreshing for me after not being around anyone from home for a while.
So that's pretty much it for this post, I should be posting one about Roma sometime next week, hopefully! ;)
Rimanete formale regazzi!
Ciao
Kaitlin









